top of page

Poetry in Motion Rolls on for 2020, with a Few Revisions

Updated: Apr 19, 2020

April is National Poetry Month, and in Nashville (along with other cities like Los Angeles, Chicago, Philadelphia and Washington, D.C.) that means Poetry in Motion ®.

For the eighth year running, Metro Arts has partnered with WeGo Transit, Southern Word and The Porch Writers’ Collective to infuse Nashville’s public transit with poetry. This year’s celebration looks a little different because of social distancing and safety recommendations, but we're still sharing the power of poems with Nashvillians.

Southern Word engaged students in a poetry contest centered on the theme “A 2020 Vision of Nashville,” while The Porch Writers’ Collective commissioned poetry from adult Nashville writers.

Winning and commissioned poems will be featured on the wrapped exterior and the interior advertising placards of the WeGo “Poetry Bus” - snap a photo and tag us if you spot the Poetry Bus in the wild! WeGo has also created a commemorative brochure featuring all of the 2020 poems.

Southern Word has moved their Cyphers--live, spoken-word poetry/rap/DJ performances traditionally held at WeGo Central, online to provide poetry to Nashvillians staying “safer at home.” Save the date for the Cyphers below!

What’s more, The Porch has compiled all of this year’s featured poems in a zine, “Next Stop: Spring,” available online and in print on some WeGo buses. View the zine and immerse yourself in local poetry now!

Follow @MetroArtsNash on social media and check back here for updates on Poetry in Motion 2020.

Adult Poets commissioned by The Porch

Prince Bush, “Transit” and “Commute”

Joe Nolan, two untitled poems

Drenusha Kolbi, “Morning Commute” and “Box of Breath”

A.M. Ringwalt, “I Move Forward” and “Here: A Stranger Sings”

Student poet winners of Southern Word’s poetry contest

LaVontea Crowder, Pearl-Cohn Entertainment Magnet High School

Isa Cruz, Hume-Fogg Academic Magnet High School

Geralaniqa Edmondson, John Early Museum Magnet Middle School

Joyceonna Goodner, Pearl-Cohn Entertainment Magnet High School

Ephie Hauck, John Overton High School

Arlo Neel, Nashville Big Picture High School

Iman Omer, Martin Luther King, Jr. Academic Magnet High School

Rachel Sapir, Martin Luther King, Jr. Academic Magnet High School

Travisha Simmons, Pearl-Cohn Entertainment Magnet High School

Alora Young, Hillsboro High School

333 views0 comments

Bình luận

bottom of page