The Metro Nashville Arts Commission or Board of Commissioners is appointed by the Mayor and approved by the Metro Council. This 15-member board oversees Metro Arts' strategic work outlined in the charter.

For information about the Commission, please contact Grace Wright or visit our Commission page on for notices of public meetings, meeting agendas and meeting minutes.

View the Bylaws of the Metro Nashville Arts Commission.


  • Jim Schmidt, Chair

  • Matia Powell, Vice Chair

  • Will Cheek, Secretary

  • Marielena Ramos, Past Chair

  • Jane Alvis

  • Ellen Angelico

  • Rev. Dexter Brewer

  • Sheri Nichols Bucy

  • Marianne Byrd

  • Bonnie Dow

  • Clay Haynes

  • Paula Roberts

  • Hope Stringer

  • David Jon Walker

  • Campbell West

2021 Committee Roster


Grants and Funding Committee

Grants Process and Guidelines

  • Sheri Nichols Bucy, Chair

  • Marianne Byrd

  • Bonnie Dow

  • Clay Haynes

  • Matia Powell          

  • Marielena Ramos

  • Jim Schmidt (Ex-Officio)

Public Art Committee (PAC)

Public Art Guidelines and Community Investment Plan

  • Jane Alvis, Chair             

  • Campbell West          

  • Community/Non-Commission Members:

    • Alejandro Acierto

    • Omari Booker

    • Sara Lee Burd                                   

    • Paul Collins

    • Shawn Giles

    • Donna Gilliam                                     

  • Jim Schmidt (Ex-Officio)​

Nominating Committee

  • Jane Alvis

  • Marielena Ramos

  • Jim Schmidt (Ex-Officio)

Strategic Planning and Public Funding Committee 

  • Jane Alvis     

  • Will Cheek

  • Bonnie Dow

  • Clay Haynes          

  • Hope Stringer​

  • Jim Schmidt (Ex-Officio)


Committee for Antiracism and Equity (CARE)

Equity Statement and CARE Guidelines

  • Will Cheek, Co-Chair

  • Paula Roberts, Co-Chair

  • Community/Non-Commission Members        

    • Sarah Bounse

    • Alandis Brassel

    • Aaron Hoke Doenges

    • Ellen Gilbert

    • Megan Kelley

    • Jonathan Marx (ARTt Co-Chair)

    • Teree McCormick (ARTt Co-Chair)

    • Jon Royal​

  • Jim Schmidt (Ex-Officio)​